"You Sleigh Me! : Alternative Christmas Hits"

Updated December 4, 2004

Received the following info from Steve Pielocik:

This album has been released before (Oct 25, 1995 to be exact), however up to this point I believe it has pretty much been a rarity. "You Sleigh Me! : Alternative Christmas Hits" was re-released (on CD & cassette) on October 1st, 1997 by Atlantic and features Tori's live performance of "Little Drummer Boy". The complete track listing is as follows...

1. Run Rudolph Run - Mary Karlzen
2. Blue Christmas - Collective Soul
3. Little Drummer Boy - Tori Amos (Live)
4. Christmas Lights - Donna Lewis
5. The First Noel - Billy Pilgrim
6. Make It Home - Juliana Hatfield
7. Merry Christmas From The Family - Jill Sobule
8. Rudolph the Red Nosed Raindeer - Daniel Johnston
9. Christmas - Dillon Fence
10. White Christmas - James Carter
11. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas - Victoria Williams
12. 25th December - Everything But The Girl

You can find out more about this Christmas album at Amazon.com.

More About Little Drummer Boy

The Little Drummer Boy was recorded live on November 12, 1992 at a club in Dundalk, Maryland called Steel Town. Tori asked the crowd for silence, saying that the song would be recorded for a children's charity benefit. Of course, there was a woman who had to shout "play it, Tori" in response to the "shall I play for you" line. The bouncers quickly took care of her but, in a way, she had ruined the mood -- at least for some of those in her immediate surroundings... (Thanks to richard mckenna for the history of this song!)

Little Drummer Boy was released commercially for the first time in 1993 on a cassette tape that was released locally by L.A. radio station KROQ. The cassette tape was called Kevin and Bean: We've Got Your Yule Logs Hangin' and proceeds from this tape went to charity. 10,000 of these tapes were distributed only through Music Plus stores in Southern California.

The Tori Amos Collectibles book covered the original release of the Christmas compilation You Sleigh Me, which was on October 25, 1995. The 1995 release was the first major label release of "Little Drummer Boy" in America. This CD is a mixture of tracks taken from two Atlantic promotional-only CDs issued in late 1994. So This Is Christmas and You Sleigh Me, both of which included "Little Drummer Boy."

Little Drummer Boy was also commercially released on the Australian Limited Edition double CD of Under The Pink and More Pink in 1994. The song has appeared on later compilation albums as well. (See the Tori Compilations Page to see what compilation albums have included it.)

Go Back

Return To ToriNews

Please give me feedback, comments, or suggestions about my site. Email me (Mikewhy) at mikewhy@iglou.com